Summer Camp, Day 2

Day 2-What were you like in high school? What extracurricular activities, if any, did you take part in during high school? Did you consider yourself a writer?

Oh, High School. Well, I never thought of myself as popular, in any way, shape or form, but looking back, I was well known and that’s a sort of popularity I guess. I am tall, very tall. My life revolved around schoolwork and basketball. I was taller than 95% of the people in the school at 6’2″, most of the boys hadn’t really had their final growth spurt, and I was uncomfortable in my own skin when I wasn’t on the court.

I was in mostly honors classes, and that group of kids weren’t really sure what to make of me, this jock that quietly out-scored them on tests. The jocks didn’t know what to make of me, either, when I was part of the German Club and played clarinet in the concert band, I just didn’t fit in with either group and longed to in the worst way. I had few close friends and it was probably for the best because I was never around to do anything fun or go out, I was always at practice or at the gym, or nose deep in a book. My parents never worried about me because they always knew where I was. My dad drove me an hour each way to AAU practice when it wasn’t high school basketball season and when we got home at 9pm, I’d shower, study and sleep.

I made the varsity bball team as a freshman and made more enemies than friends doing so. When I was a junior, I won the school science fair (having access to your dad’s biochemical lab is a real edge) and went on to place third in the state. Again, more enemies than friends. Later that year, I led our basketball team to a state championship. I was the state free-throw champ. My senior year I signed a full basketball scholarship with a university.

I mostly remember desperately wanting to be liked, but never really succeeding. Probably because I wanted it SO badly, my eagerness was off-putting, most likely. I was painfully shy around almost all boys, and had braces until I was midway through my senior year, 6 years in all. I realize now, most people were probably intimidated by me, but all I wanted to be was liked. Ah well.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Summer Camp, Day 2

  1. Here from Summer Camp. All these posts about high school make me wonder what the really popular kids would write about.

Leave a Reply

