Frickin’ Car

I love my Honda, I really do.  It’s green and it usually loves me back.  Not today and not anytime soon, so sayeth the mechanic.  I know it has a lot of miles on it, but most of my Hondas have far outlived this mile marker of life…it’s bothering me to have it sick.  Makes me sad.

So watching Toddlers and Tiaras to me is sort of like not being able to look away from a car accident.  It’s both horrifying and hard to look away all at the same time.  Having grown up no where near any of this sort of activity, it’s all foreign and sparkly, who actually does these things?  I’ve honestly never met anyone that’s ever done this sort of things.  What’s wrong with soccer and basketball?  Horseback riding?  Plays and musicals?  Something productive?  Who knows, this could be horribly insulting to someone who enjoys this, but to me it just makes hilarious reality TV.  Something I enjoy, so I shouldn’t complain.

Yesterday was my 36 week checkup with the OB.  I’m way into the routine at this point, checking in and immediately heading to the bathroom to pee in the yellow topped cup, dutifully writing my name and DOB on the side and sneaking it into the two-way cabinet that attaches to the lab.  Because it was early in the morning, we were ushered right into an exam room, weighed and BP taken, nothing unusual.  Weight was down again, but nothing worrying, another 10 in 2 weeks.  BP normal, nothing weird to report other than the nagging nausea that will not go away.  The little guy was thrashing around in there so I wasn’t worried when the Dr. checked his heartbeat, probably the first time that I didn’t hold my breath until she found it.  She checked my cervix, closed, long and soft, and then did a strep b swab.  She got out the US machine and double checked that his head was down (it was) and talked a little more about checking his weight again in a week to see where we were at.  Ha.  That’s a nice way of saying “your baby is huge and you won’t be allowed to get to 40 weeks” but I’ve know this for a few weeks and had a chance to get used to the idea that this is happening sooner than later at this point in the game.

I may have gone to Target yesterday and purchased their entire clearance section.  I couldn’t help myself.  It was all 50% or more off, and it was nice stuff.  Blankets, burp cloths, clothing, bottles, you name it.  I bought a playtex breast pump that was originally $200 and I got it for $48.  Sweet.  Now to find a place to put it all 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

